Pranayama, the exercise of breathing written

Pranayama is described as control of breath. The Prana symbolizes the pranic energy that’s responsible for life force, and “ayama” means control. One may control rhythms of pranic energy together with pranayama so as to achieve that heavenly mind and body.

Five kinds of of prana are normally responsible for different pranic activities in your body. They are Apana, Prana, Samana, Vyan and Udana. Out of these, Apana and Prana are the most vital. Prana is upward -flowing while on the other hand, Apana is downward- flowing. Pranayama practice achieves that balance in activities of the pranas resulting in healthy mind and body.

Types of Pranayama

  • · Deep breathing, quiet breathing, and fast breathing
  • · Tribandha and Pranayama
  • · Nadi Shuddhi Pranayama(Anuloma-Viloma)
  • · Suryan Bhedan Pranayama
  • · Ujjayi Pranayama
  • · Bhramari Pranayama
  • · Hatha Yoga Pranayama
  • · Surya Bhedan, Ujjayi, Bhasrika, Sitkari, Shitali, Plavini and Murchha Pranayama

Preparation for Pranayama

As people are attracted by Yogasanas is the same way they have that attraction to the Pranayama. The procedure of Pranayama is normally concerned with breathing which is an indicator of life. Therefore, when it’s not properly done, it might do harm to an individual. This fear discourages many people from taking it up. The other reason why many people might be dissuaded from taking it is the dearth of teachers who are able to scientifically teach it. Nevertheless, it’s true that when a person unscientifically performs Pranayama without adequate guidance, one suffers certainly. But this doesn’t imply that it’s such a difficult procedure, that a common man cannot do it. On the contrary, when it’s learnt and then practiced under the guidance of a professional, a person learns quickly and experiences the amazing world and its unimaginable benefits.

In Patanjali’s “Ashtanga Yoga” Pranayama appears at fourth stage. This implies that unless a person observes Yama- Niyama, and also does Asanas well,she or he is unable to reach the fourth stage. Even those Asanis mentioned are represented in their initial form. Thus, for performing Pranayama, it’s inadequateto have performed the Asanas as cited. Even after learning Asanas and practiced them, a person requires some preparation before basically taking up Pranayama. Actual pranayama basically means holding up the procedure of inhaling as well as exhaling. And it’s impossible to debate or guide this component of Yogabhyasa in initial discussion. Thus, as the initial exercises are mentioned, and that are to be performed before the actual starting of the Asanas, the same way for Pranayama, the initial breathing exercises created.

It’s necessary to understand breathing process. The process mainly involves two activities that are exhaling and inhaling. Of these, exhaling is referred to as “Puraka” while inhaling is known as “Rechaka.” The two activities continue without stopping right from when a person is born till his death. That state when the two are made to stop is called “Khumbhaka” in Yoga studies. That stop after inhaling is known as “Abhyantara-Kumbhaka.”

Breathing speed is divided into 3 parts: 

That smooth breathing continuing naturally without effort (Quiet Breathing)

The protracted breathing caused by the deliberate decrease of breathing (Deep Breathing)

The quick breathing caused by the deliberate increase in breathing speed (Fast Breathing)